Reviews for Like Father Like Son

BY : Herpb4uDerp


  • From TristaML on August 04, 2019

    I! STAN! THIS!

    I'm usually not so trendy,  but that perfectly describes my feelings. If you don't know what that means, look it up, it's a compliment. 

    Let me back up here...  I saw when you had posted just the A/N and the response and laughed because I thought at first that maybe it was a mistake. So, I checked back a day later and it still hadn't been fixed,  then I realized,  oh no, you really weren't going to update. Which is cool,  but, of course, sad, and so you can imagine my surprise at TWO chapters coming out.

    Now, I don't think I can articulate exactly how happy I was to read this, even though I'm holding my heart right now, so I'm not even gonna try but, Fuck. So fucking well done.  So well thought out, and so well written. And so damn GOOD! I can't wait for more. 

    I hate that this site is so dead, this story deserves more love.  Back in the day we could rate stories,  1 to 5 stars, 5 being the best,  I would so be hitting up that 5 star so hard right now. 

    Ok I'm done. 

    Trista ML



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on July 14, 2019

    I read this last chapter twice, for several reasons. Bra was driving me crazy and I wanted to reread to understand what she was thinking exactly.

    She's fucking nuts. At first I thought she didn't know what senzu beans were,  which would have been strange, then I thought, damn, she is so cold towards the severity of her father's condition, and afterwards I finally got she was trying to "protect" him. It was hard to read. Not the clarity of it, but the cringy emotion from it, and how wrong I felt that she was,  but I get it, kind of, she's got personality and balls that's for sure. But she's also got some serious control issues,  then again,  she didn't exactly luck out in the gene pool from Bulma and Vegeta on personality traits. (Or did she? :) )

    Another reason I had to keep reading was because I felt like Goku was a little OOC, but you explained it well when he burst into tears. Personally I love a crying Goku, he never cries in the show and most authors never depict him with much real emotion,  so it's nice to see something *more* from him. I guess his instability and fear of anyone else finding out what even he can't explain is what kept him from man-handling her, that,  and her weird way of asking for it, which he subtly caught onto,  is what kept him from ultimately by-passing her and giving Vegeta the damn bean! Just to tell her in the end, anyways. Ugh, again,  it was hard to read.  You explained that,  too, though, if it had been anyone else,  Goku would have gone "battle-mode"... and I kept waiting for it! Either way,  it was all very interesting.

    And then of course, there's whatever the fuck Bra thinks she is gonna do about Goten, and whatever the fuck Goten thinks he's gonna do about Vegeta! Hmmm. I'll probably reread these last few chapters a few times while I wait for the update... 

    It's ok, I'll wait. 

    TristaML



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on July 02, 2019

    I was so looking forward to the update on this but you didn't post a new chapter. Ugh.

    These last two chapters,  while interesting,  just aren't scratching the itch... I want to know what happens, between everyone. I knew you had plans for Bra but I still don't understand your use for her, I guess because she's normally a very underused character... IDK, but she's definitely grown on me. And I never considered before that Trunks actually had a drinking problem,  I guess I just kind of thought of him and Goten as young men that run around chasing after everything they want, doing whatever they want,  feeling invincible, that sort if thing,  I mean,  men do that, grown men even, but these last two chapters have painted things in a little bit of a different light.  Still. Waiting.  For the update... and some action!

    TristaML



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on June 03, 2019

    I so was looking forward to an udate on this story and I'm glad you were able to get around to it. I feel like we're definitely getting somewhere even if this chapter seems to be a bit of a "filler". I enjoyed it nonetheless. The text messages, that hurts. And I can't believe I'm about to say this, because Goten is every bit the dick Vegeta is, and his scheming is detestable, but I agree with him on one point- why wouldn't Goku just show up to see Vegeta?! It's not like he would really turn him away!

    Still very curious with what end you have in mind for this whole thing, but I also kind of don't want to know in a weird way, it's not love/hate necessarily, it's more like watching a thriller and covering your eyes but you still peak through your fingers because you just fucking have to know what's gonna happen...

    I do hope you update again this Saturday!

    TristaML

     



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on May 16, 2019

    I can't help but constantly ask myself, "What the hell is Goten thinking?!"

    That is all I really have to say.

    TristaML



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on May 06, 2019

    As annoyed as I am to not get any progress on the storyline itself with these last two chapters, I am still grateful for the insight they gave. Necessary plot information to be sure. So many little details were in there that correlate so well with everything else I was surprised, even though I suppose I shouldn't have been. Everything from Vegeta silently telling Goku he was sorry for teaching Goten to cuss to much, in retrospect to another scene from an earlier chapter, and then from Chi Chi freaking out about Goten's sexual preferences, which explains why he hasn't been home in so long, to Goten's dislike of Gohan's perpetual "perfection," it all just makes so much more sense. I was honestly wondering when the depth for Goten's character was going to come in, I think I mentioned that before, and I'm happy to have gotten some answers!

    That being said I'm desperately in need of some storyline developement now, lol, and I wonder at what you have in store. I like that I can't predict what's coming next, although I have some ideas. Each new chapter always leaves me a little bit surprised. Still, I know it's only a matter of time before the weight of their relationship troubles start to crack down on them. Patiently waiting as usual...

    TristaML



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on April 12, 2019

    I'm so curious... to know what Goten wants. I mean,  what does he really want, from Goku and from Vegeta. For himself. It seems to me that he is just so messed up that he hasn't thought things through...

    Vegeta should have told Goku! But I enjoyed this chapter nonetheless. 

    I found you on AO3, I forget about that sight,  honestly,  and I really wanted to go ahead and read the whole story-  And you have so many reviews there!- I wanted to read those,  too, but since you're revamping the story, it wouldn't do any justice to ruin whatever changes you deemed necessary by forgoing the new updates here so I restrained,  but it took effort lol. My curiosity is piqued. 

    Ugh.

    TristaML



    Report Review


  • From reto90kid on April 06, 2019

    hey can I be in the story



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on March 27, 2019

    Totally not surprised by Vegetas response but wow does Goku have some work to do.

    I love how well thought out your storyline is, and how "dbz-like" it is. The innocence of Goku, along with his completely unintentional actions,  are an interesting parallel with the actual impacts of his choices and it makes everything that much more tricky and delicate when it comes to his relationships.

    I also really appreciated Gotens silent admittance of how childish and insecure he truly is. What a huge character development.  Not to mention the correlation between his characteristics and Vegetas, which makes sense,  but I never thought of it that way before.  Very, very well done.  I am looking forward to the next installments!

    TristaML



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on March 09, 2019

    Oh my gosh.  And you talk about my cliff hangers. Holy hell. Oh my gosh.

    I literally have nothing else to say!

    Except I wish it was next Saturday...

    TristaML



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on March 04, 2019

    Yessss!!!! I loved that Goten was showing so much vulnerability here,  we got to see more out of him than just anger and scheming and I am loving the change of direction! Very interested to see what else Bra's part to play in this is... my favorite part was when Vegeta told Goten that he would approve,  Gotens response was hilarious,  and his retorting kiss was epic.  Love it. 

    Im excited to read more as usual!

     



    Report Review


  • From Iuvenes on February 23, 2019

    mmmm, my favorite chapter. Not counting the extra one. Maybe even counting the extra one. I suck at reviews so I'm struggling to explain how much I love it. You even warned us ahead of time that it would be the end (for a while, anyway). And of all the places to run to when Goku finally lost it, of course he went to the place where he had the happiest day of his life. This chapter is the bedrock of this entire story and it's perfect.



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on January 30, 2019

    I had this whole long review written out and then somehow it all got deleted, so I'll make this short and sweet. Goten is absolutely nuts, Vegeta is surely going to find out, and/or be that much more upset in the long run which is not a good thing. I love the foreshadowing from previous chapters coming into play in these recent ones (like the information about Bra's conception and why she can do nothing wrong in Vegeta's eyes), I was so surprised by how Bulma handled the situation, threatening Goku like that, which also speaks to why he may have left and leaves me even more curious about everything to begin with, I'm glad to see Gohan in this, I hope to see more of him, and I am eagerly awaiting what's to come next! EEK!

    Sincerely,

    Trista ML



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on January 20, 2019

    I could not be fucking happier to hear that about the chapters! Not necessarily that they'll take a while but that there's so much more to happen! These last two chapters were incredible! I have not been so enthralled in a story in so long :)  I could not put my phone down...

    Goten fucked up so bad! I can honestly say I was not expecting that to go down in such a way, and I wonder so badly at what's to come next...  Your creativity needs to be applauded,  so cheers to you. I have much more to say but I'm pressed for time,  I will try to write a more in depth view at a later date but for now, I am just so happy to see these updates! 

    -TristaML



    Report Review


  • From TristaML on December 31, 2018

    I'm excited for the next few chapters! Its kind of funny to me that Goten was hesitant to try Vegeta in the first place,  maybe he didn't want to be rejected,  so he waited until he knew he wouldn't be. We shall see :) A little sad that Goku and Vegeta's first time was spurred on by an aphrodisiac but I get more why they're so at odds with their "relationship". I want to know more about that relationship,  so many things are yet to be explained...

    I will say, too, that I like that you update multiple chapters, although there is a downside to doing that.  One, it creates a lack of anticipation, and hits on your story,  and two,  sometimes it seems rushed. I've done it before on one of my favorite stories and it wasn't received very well on this particular sight since some people only read stories on here based off of hits,  which is ridiculous but true.

    Plus, make sure you reread what you're about to post a few times before posting it, in this last chapter in particular, there were a lot of grammatical errors that could easily be fixed. Don't rush it, unless you are just dying to get it out,  in which case I understand,  and do go on... it just throws off the flow and emotion of the story when the reader has to mentally correct a sentence. It happens to all of us, I'm just putting it out there so you can fine tune the overall mood of your story, which will make the impact on the reader that much better. 

    TristaML



    Report Review